General Call for Papers


2014International Workshop on Antenna Technology:

Small Antennas, Novel EM Structures and Materials, and Applications


March 4-6, 2014, Sydney, Australia


General Chair:

Y Jay Guo

CSIRO, Australia


International Advisory

Committee Chairs:

Raj Mittra

Penn. State Univ. USA

Zhi Ning Chen

National Uni. of Singapore

Trevor S Bird

CSIRO, Australia


International Advisory

Committee Members:

W. Ross Stone

Stoneware Ltd, USA

Koichi Ito

Chiba University, Japan

Makoto Ando

Tokyo Institute of Tech., Japan

Steve Best

Mitre Corporation, USA

Yiannis Vardaxoglou

Loughborough Uni., UK

Richard Ziolkowski

The Uni. of Arizona, USA

John L. Volakis

The Ohio State Uni., USA

Kwai-Man Luk

City Uni of Hong Kong

Hisamatsu Nakano

Hosei University, Japan

Peter S. Hall

The Uni. of Birmingham, UK

Tatsuo Itoh

Uni. of California, Los Angeles, USA

Technical Program

Committee Chairs:

Ananda M. Sanagavarapu

UTS, Australia

Christophe Fumeaux

Uni. of Adelaide, Australia


Publicity Chair:

Karu Esselle

Macquarie Uni., Australia

The International Workshop on Antenna Technology (iWAT) is an annual forum for the exchange of information on the research and development of innovative antenna technologies. iWAT2014 will be held at Sydney’s beautiful Darling Harbor and interesting social activities are also being planned.

iWAT 2014 accepts papers in two tracks, namely invited and contributory. The invited papers will be oral presentations delivered by prominent researchers in the field whereas the contributory papers will be presented in the interactive forums. There will be one best paper award and two best student paper awards.


 The topics of interest include the following:

Small Antennas          

  • Adaptive (smart) arrays
  • Antennas on/in IC packages
  • Arrays
  • Broadband antennas
  • Conformal antennas
  • Embedded antennas
  • MEMS/Nano technology for antennas
  • Millimeter Wave and THz antennas
  • Modeling and simulations
  • Miniaturization of antennas
  • Non-Foster/active elements
  • Nano-antennas
  • Reconfigurable antennas
  • Reflect arrays
  • Ultra-wideband (UWB) antennas


Innovative Structures and Materials

  • Analysis and design of EM materials
  • Artificial magnetic conductors (AMC)
  • Bi-anisotropic materials
  • Electromagnetic anisotropy
  • Electromagnetic bandgap (EBG)
  • Fractal structures
  • Frequency selective surfaces (FSS)
  • Novel features of EM materials
  • Single and double negative metamaterial
  • Superconducting material



  • Automotive systems
  • Bluetooth/W-LAN (PDAs, laptops)
  • Body-centric wireless communications
  • GPS systems
  • Medical applications
  • MIMO systems
  • Mobile wireless systems
  • Power harvesting
  • RFID/Sensors
  • UWB communication and radar systems
  • Wireless communication systems

(handheld devices, base stations)

  • Radar systems
  • mm-Wave/ TeraHertz communications and imaging
  • Satellite communications
  • EMC

Important Dates

Deadline of paper submission: October 26, 2013 - Extended Deadline

Notification of acceptance: December 14, 2013

Camera Ready Manuscripts due: December 24, 2013

Paper Submission Guidelines

Please refer to the Author Guidelines and Paper Submission page on this web site.